1916 Commemoration Medals

1916 firefighters medals


Confirmation of all Firefighters in Ireland who were in service in 2016 are to receive their 1916 Commemoration Medal was received yesterday by the NRFA from Minister Eoghan Murphy’s department.

This news is very welcome to all Firefighters and only right, as they were the only front line service not to be presented to them during Centenary Commemorative Service Year of 2016. This is only right as the Fire Service was the only Service who were in action of the Easter week of 1916.

This medal along with the 40 year Service Medal have been achieved through a collective effort within the NRFA.

Next on the agenda for our Association is to achieve the badly needed extension to the retirement age as we feel that 58 is way to young. We feel that this is a very important factor on moving the Fire Service forward nationally.

Our other aim is to achieve a fairness across the board in relation to the introduction since 2013 of the Superannuation Scheme for new recruits, which we feel is grossly unfair on the new recruits. Basically, the busier a station they serve in, the better pension they will receive which is another anomaly Fire Fighters face. This is WRONG and our aim is as an association to have it rectified, for reasons well known to all Fire Fighters is that no matter how busy, or quiet your station is, the 24 / 7 cover does not change, its still the same commitment.

I would like to take this opportunity as Chairman of the NRFA, to thank the following for their help in resolving the Medal’s issues.
Mr Sean Hogan NDFEM
Minister Damien English FG
Minister Joe Mc Hugh FG
Minister John Paul Phelan FG
Minister Heather Humphreys FG
TD Michael Healy Rae Ind.
Senator Padraig Mc Laughlin SF
Senator Ray Butler FG
County Councillor Jack Murray SF
County Councillor Barry O Neill FG
County Councillor William Patton LAB

Yours sincerely,

Stephen Mc Fadden
Chairperson of the National Retained Firefighters Association

(Pictured Below
Back row L – R
John Curtin ,Kerry / Martin O’ Grady, Kerry / Anthony Kirwan PRO & Developement Officer NRFA.
Front row L – R
Conal Kane Secretary NRFA / TD Michael Healy Rae / Minister Damien English / Séan Hogan / Stephen McFadden Chairperson NRFA.)

nrfa 1916

Share This Post